The Journey

I have recently found myself on the back of a motorcycle.  It’s one of those things you either do, or don’t do.  Most of my life I didn’t.  When kurbis first asked me to go, I was kinda hoping for rain.  He was so excited, I was so scared.  I have friends that ride.  I have dated men who ride.  I have an aunt who has her own bike.  It just wasn’t me.  I don’t have a problem with motorcycles, I just never pictured myself on the back of one.

As I was getting ready to go, my anxiety was at an all time high.  I called my sister and said I love you twice.  I readjusted my helmet three times.  My palms were sweaty.  In my head, I couldn’t even fathom how I was going to get on this thing, or why you ride a motorcycle when you have a perfectly good Lexus in the driveway.

The first challenge was just getting on.  I have this weird right left thing going on.  I am right-handed, but the left side of my body is much stronger, so it makes coordination a bit of an effort.  I also have very short legs, they are only the length of my arms.  Lastly, I am fat.  These three factors combined with a tall  bike and bad nerves = EPIC FAIL.

Miracle of miracles, I got on the bike.  For the first ten minutes, I just concentrated on not throwing up all over him.  We went over a bridge and it was absolutely stunning.  The next ride was even better than the first.  Now I would venture to say I am comfortable.  I am not buying chaps or anything but it’s nice.

When on the bike I can’t resist stretching my arms out like a kid and letting the wind push them back.   I fight the urge to scream against the wind, and overall I feel pretty free.  What I have learned is I notice everything more.  When not in the bubble of the car, everything seems a little brighter.  When on the back of a motorcycle, Life is really about the journey and not the destination.  I may not me a part of the whole thing, but I get how it brings people together.

And that my friends, was a pretty cool adventure.

~ by cutefatgirl on July 13, 2011.

5 Responses to “The Journey”

  1. You are a much braver soul than I am!

  2. It feels like you are flying. I love motorcycles but am scared of other drivers…there is not a lot of respect out there from cars towards bikers. So I have never consented to getting one even though Eddie desperately wants a pan am spyder. Those are so cool and a really soft ride. I am glad you let yourself go with it and that you go to feel the freedom of flying for a bit. Hopefully you will go again and take in more scenic routes. So much to see and feel and do in life; I say do it all and have fun! Love ya Lisa! Thanks for posting!

  3. brave.. or stupid. The jury is still out.

  4. Good for you for doing it! I think that’s great.

  5. I’ve never been on a motorcycle before. I’d be willing to try it, so long as I had a helmet.

Leave a Reply

 
