Still moved.

There is a Dan Seals song:  You still move me.  It’s a song I heard the other day, and it touched me to my core.  The story is about a man, who has moved on from a relationship, but is still moved by his ex.  In the song he questions what he would do if he saw her again.  He talks about how we would never hurt the new one and how the feeling is wrong, but that he doesn’t know which way to turn.

I do not believe that Ryan ever feels that way.  I know I would never risk a new relationship because of old feelings.

What touched me about the song: was the act of being moved.

I am still moved.  I am moved by my feeling for him, about the reality of feelings.  The things I experienced and felt, the didn’t go away because the relationship ended.  I am still moved my the passion we shared – I have never felt so beautiful.   I am moved by memories of Cohen calling me Mama for the first time.  I am moved by Collins eager smile.  These are things I can still enjoy, even though they aren’t part of my life.

These are the things that move me.  These are the things that make me remember that it is worth it.  That being vulnerable is worth it.  Loving someone is worth it.

The feelings that remind me that you have to take the chance..because you never know what is in store for you.

So whatever I am embarking on, be it a relationship, a friendship or an adventure  I want to remember: I was moved.  The chance is worth it.  Don’t be afraid to take that step.

I refuse to hide from my life because of fear.  I remember what it was like to be moved.

~ by cutefatgirl on April 15, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
