Rant: Tip Your Waitress.

I work in a casual dining restaurant, an Olive Garden.  I do okay there, I like it.  I love people and good food, so it is a match made in heaven.  Today I wanted to shoot myself after I left work.  I just can’t imagine how stupid people can be.  Seriously, If you need your five dollars that bad, don’t come to Olive Garden.  I make 3.85 cents an hour, or something stupid like that.  Anticipate having to tip your server.

Today, I had a party of ten come in.  It was grandmamma’s 80th Birthday.  I am not patting myself on the back or nothing, but I was a great server.  Never were any of the ten people there without a drink.  I smiled. I sang Happy Birthday.  I even packed up extra bread sticks and to go drinks.  I smiled, brought mints and the bill.  I was very proud of me.  As with the policy of my restaurant, any parties over eight have gratuity of 18% automatically added.  It’s a lot of work to handle a party of that size.

Then I heard, “The tip is already on there, how cute.”  I knew it would be my downfall.  I continued to box food, smile and bring out more bread in to go bags.  She complained to my manager.  Nothing about service, only the tip situation.  He took it off the bill.  She left me $3.00.  Really? 4%? Why bother?  Keep it – you need it worse than me.

For two hours, I ran.  I know it’s my job and everything, but that was just wrong.  Aren’t things understood?  If I can’t afford to tip twenty percent, I stay home.   It made me want to look up the woman on Facebook, and send her an email.  My job is not worth that risk, so I didn’t.

I am pleading.  If you go out to eat, and have excellent service, tip your server.  It’s the right thing to do.

~ by cutefatgirl on January 22, 2011.

3 Responses to “Rant: Tip Your Waitress.”

  1. I would have taken it up with your boss. Why have a policy if it’s not enforced? It’s exactly that kind of customer that encourages a policy like that.

  2. I feel the same way. I was a little frustrated that my boss took it off.

  3. That is a shame. I always tip well, if the service warrants it.

Leave a Reply

 
