Boycotting Marie Claire

I read an article at Stacey’s blog yesterday, that just irritated me for no other reason than it’s ignorance.  Here is the article, and it’s enough to make me never pick up a copy of Marie Claire again.  In her update Ms. Kelly apologizes, and basically says it is because she has had a life long obsession with being thin.   There are many smart ass things I could say after reading her bio, I don’t want to attack her, BUT did she ever stop to think she should take her photo off her bio because I personally am offended by women with no tits (this was an example, not my true feeling on the topic).  That is the same kind of ignorance she displayed in this article. 

I am morbidly obese.  I am FAT and not afraid of the word.  I am also fabulous, funny, loving, a good sister.  My body size does not define who I am.  It shouldn’t.  I wish society would quit looking at people’s  hair, skin color and ass size.  It doesn’t really matter.  At the end of the day, how fat I am only affects me.  So keep your nose away from my scale.  It’s really none of your business.  Maura would be really offended, because at a neighborhood bar you could often find my fat ass dressed in revealing clothing.  Maybe even kissing.

If you measure people by the strength of their character in this world, you will find yourself in a much better place.  Boldly be who you are.  Don’t hide in a closet because your fat, or lanky or ugly.  Love this life.   If you want to lose weight, do it for you.  Still love yourself if you don’t.

Maura… a piece of advice:  before you can find love, try giving some love.

~ by cutefatgirl on October 27, 2010.

4 Responses to “Boycotting Marie Claire”

  1. I wonder if she will get fired? Although, who the hell at MC thought it was a good idea to publish it?

  2. I have to wonder the same thing. It’s never a good idea to offend a massive group of women. To just be mean Makes me want to send her naked pictures.

  3. love the last line of this post!

  4. I absolutely agree. Only kindness makes sense, including being kind to yourself. I will never pick up that mag again. Stupid Marie Claire.

Leave a Reply

 
