word whore.

This may come as a surprise to all my readers, but I am a tried and true dork.  I know you think that just because my boyfriend is Josh Lyman, and he is on TV, that automatically I am cool.  It doesn’t work that way.  I am still a card-carrying dork.

I wear ribbons in my hair, I have never seen half the movies people ask me about and if you have a library card in your pocket, I will think you are the sexiest man EVER.   I watch nerdy tv and cake shows and never know songs not on the radio.

The other day Rebecca called me a word whore, and I got a huge smile on my face.  It’s a compliment of the highest order.  I love words.  Scrabble is my favorite game, a good vocabulary turns me on, if you can do a crossword puzzle in ink – I will have your baby,  and I will read anything.  It meshes well with my loves to be right character flaw as well. 

Words really do make me feel better – and they make things make sense to me.  I was in the waiting room at the Dr’s this morning and I read a quote by Jenny McCarthy.  It said “No one can complete you, first you have to complete by yourself.” That really resonated with me.  I am broken, because R completed me, I wasn’t whole without him. 

So even though my über cool sister laughs at me, I am embracing my dorkiness.  I will wear ribbons in my hair, bake cookies, collect dolls and play scrabble with all the intensity I can in this lifetime.

I didn’t start the diet yet, cause I am still not feeling well.  I will start Wednesday.  I am dreading stepping on the scale.

~ by cutefatgirl on October 12, 2010.

2 Responses to “word whore.”

  1. i’m right there with you… i love crosswords. and scrabble and using obscure words.
    i love to learn. love to read. and library cards turn me on big time. thinking about working at borders. just for the discount.
    diets suck. i would know. i’m on one. but i don’t think mine will ever end b/c it’s one of those need to make a lifestyle change things. i miss my carbs… the fun ones like mashed potatoes and pasta.
    wish you luck and don’t worry about that scale. hopefully it’s a number you won’t see again for a very long time!!

  2. It’s fine, I’m also a total dork. But I think dorks are more fun anyhow 😉

Leave a Reply

 
