betty crocker and feminism.

I was born in 1977, well after the feminist movement.  I was raised by a single mother in a healthy stable home.  Something got mixed up in the water.   My sister calls me Betty Crocker.  When in a relationship, I have the urge to bake my man cookies, do his laundry and otherwise impress him with my domestic prowess.   I am more impressed by hosting a great party, than any amount of money I have ever made.

In my nearly decade long marriage, I was the decision maker and breadwinner.  I did not want this role.  I didn’t want a career, I kinda stumbled into Westinghouse.  I wanted six kids, I have none.  My life has certainly not taken the road I had mapped out.

I am a traditionalist when it comes to gender roles.  I don’t know how to change a tire, I don’t take out trash and I don’t expect my man to cook dinner.  I don’t like to carry things, I gladly hand off all “man” tasks.  How am I still single? Oh, the snootiness  prissiness can be a turn off I suppose.

My sister who I love more than anyone in the world, is just the opposite.  I admire her strength and that she can always hook up the VCR.   I hate that we think we have to be shoved into labels – that’s a  man thing or a woman thing.  It would be nice if we could just be.

For me, baking cookies in the suburbs is bliss.  Does that make me less of a woman than my Woman Power, feminist counterparts?

~ by cutefatgirl on October 6, 2010.

2 Responses to “betty crocker and feminism.”

  1. The short answer? No, it doesn’t make you any less of a woman. It makes you you.

    Now for the long answer…

    I wish we could remove gender stereotypes and labels. Why can’t we just be who we want to be without a label being slapped on it? The problem with gender roles as we’ve always known them is that it has to be one or the other. It’s either male or female. It leaves no room for gray, and life is full of shades of gray. The gender role that particularly intrigues me is the notion of the woman barefoot and pregnant in the kitchen cooking the family meals.

    Until recently, the overwhelming majority of professional chefs were men. Why is it okay for a man to prepare meals as a professional, but a woman’s place to do it in the home? Makes no sense. And that’s the thing about gender roles. Most of them make no sense whatsoever. Bottom line? Be who you want to be and don’t let anyone tell you it’s right or wrong.

  2. Nope, you’re not less of a woman at all.

    I, personally, do expect my man to cook dinner once in awhile. I hate cooking.

Leave a Reply

 
