my life’s mission statement

A mission statement is a short written statement defining the purpose of a company or organization.   I have decided to give my life it’s very own mission statement:

 Life is short. Break the rules, forgive quickly, kiss slowly, love truly, laugh uncontrollably, and never regret anything that made you smile.

I am going to do my best to live up to this every day.  In the weeks since I came back, I have spent hours praying, meditating and crying.  I have let go of my  bitterness, and said It’s okay to miss them – I love them.  So I am taking some advice from Elizabeth Gilbert and sending them love and light every time I think of them. 

I have also been reading.  Richard Carlson believes that we get caught up in anger because we don’t gear ourselves towards love.  I am refocusing the negative, and gearing myself to love.  I am going to wake up every day and think of someone to send love to and why I love them.  I will spend a moment, Every Day, thinking of someone to love.    He gives a list of people your should consider, so I am going to go with it.  He says to think about why you love them, keep a list and read it every day.

  1. Mother – This is any easy one – She is the best.  She loves with all she has, and has set an incredible example.
  2. Father – It gets hard already.  You taught me early that love doesn’t come easy.  By ending your life, you taught me that I should never give up.  I get sad at all the things you have missed.
  3. Brother – Got None, Son.
  4. Sister – This bitch is always there for me.  Whatever I want, she loves me through it. And she has great taste in accessories.
  5. Grandmother – Mine was the best.  She never made cookies, but she told me about God.
  6. Grandfather- Got None, Son.  Noticing a trend?
  7. Aunt – My Aunt Tinker.  She always wanted me, always teaches me to keep striving.
  8. Uncle – My Uncle David.  This man is it.  He loves us all like we are his.  He’s grumpy and moody and always has a joke.
  9. Cousin- Rhonda.  The big sister I never had.  She taught me how to be a big sister and goes out of her way to help people.
  10. Child – Josh.  He used to live across the street from me.  I loved him and he loved me.  He thought that was enough to make us related.  He taught me the purity of love.
  11. Spouse/Ex – John.  You taught me how to forgive, that time heels all wounds. 
  12. Someone Your Dating/Used to date – R. From you and the boys I learned it is worth the gamble.
  13. Religious Leader – Ghandi.  You life principles have helped shaped my relationships with others.
  14. Friend- I have so many great ones.  I am gonna spotlight a new one each week.
~ by cutefatgirl on September 24, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
